The Wage (February 15, 2010)

A transaction between you and me.
For the greater good, AKA the company.
Do I seek out this routine?
Wake up. Move about. Shit, shower, and shave.
Clock in, lunchbox tin, make sure to behave.
A piece of my soul withers each day.
Conferred with the masses in line. Soup today I’m told.
Viewed provisions under glass casings, embedded with mold.
Not surprised the soup is cold.
Retreat to white walls and mindless chatter.
I earn a paycheck, nothing else matters.
My mind has scattered.

Leave a Reply

