Sunrise and Purple Skies (October 22, 2010)

We back the boat down the ramp.
It’s a brisk 40-degree October morning.
The moon illuminates the morning sky.
Weather conditions are calm. It isn’t storming.
We sputter through the foggy river.
I’m reminded of the little things.
Mother Nature and her wonderful splendors.
Absent fancy cars and decadent rings.
It’s true. I’m awake for money.
Yet I relish in what I see.
The sun and the moon intertwined in purple skies.
As if this painting was created for me.

If we die today.
Remember these words I say.
Enjoy life’s brief stay.
Know that you may stray.
Pray to find peace where bones lay.

Leave a Reply

