Sober Night (November 28, 2010)

It’s the Saturday night place
Where masses put on a drinking face
Not me this time

Pungent brew
Permeating air like winter stew
Water is fine

Old and new friends cheer
Several shots, chased with beer
Not a soul indulging wine

A woman thinks I’m funny
I don’t smile. I’m like this sober, hunny
Something’s amiss in my mind

Feeling sober with lack of drink
She’s stares and doesn’t blink
I decline her in my prime

Is it wrong I feel vexed?
At the thought of sober sex?
My thought process is unkind

Getting used to the thought
Of a sober scene’s walk and talk
I’m searching for my spine

Leave a Reply

